Skip to Content
chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up chevron-right chevron-left arrow-back star phone quote checkbox-checked search wrench info shield play connection mobile coin-dollar spoon-knife ticket pushpin location gift fire feed bubbles home heart calendar price-tag credit-card clock envelop facebook instagram twitter youtube pinterest yelp google reddit linkedin envelope bbb pinterest homeadvisor angies

Treatment for Chronic Kidney Disease

Because your kidneys play such a vital role in your body’s function, any sort of damage to them can have an affect on your health. Chronic kidney disease is a term used to describe any form of kidney damage, ranging from mild to severe, and is categorized into five different stages, depending on the severity of the damage. Stage one refers to the mildest forms of damage, and stage five is the most severe, referring to patients with complete kidney failure. At Northeast Nephrology Consultants, Inc, we provide treatment for all stages of chronic kidney disease. Please reach out to us today for additional information or to request an appointment.

The Five Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

The five stages of chronic kidney disease are determined by how well the kidneys are able to filter waste and extra fluid out of the blood. The worse your kidney damage becomes, the harder it will be for them to properly filter waste and could even result in them completely failing. Doctors measure your kidney’s ability to filter waste based on the estimated glomerular filtration rate or eGFR. This number is determined based on a blood test that measures the level of creatinine in your body, which is a waste product found in the blood. Your eGFR will help your doctor diagnose which stage of kidney disease you are in. The five stages of chronic kidney disease are:

Stage 1

Any patient with an eGFR of 90 or higher, but who has signs of mild kidney damage falls into the stage one category. Your kidneys will still function normally in this stage but you likely have other symptoms of damage like protein in the urine, high blood pressure, swelling in the legs, or frequent urinary tract infections.

Stage 2

Patients with an eGFR of 89 to 60 are considered to be in stage two. You may experience mild loss of kidney function in this stage. However, it’s possible you may have mostly normal kidney function, but be experiencing signs of damage. Much like patients in stage one, if you are in stage two, you may have high blood pressure, abnormal urine tests, or swelling in the legs.

Stage 3

Stage three kidney disease has two phases. The first phase is categorized by an eGFR between 59 and 45 with mild to moderate loss of kidney function. The second phase is categorized by an eGFR between 44 and 30 with moderate to severe loss of kidney function. If you’re in stage three, you may experience low blood count, unusual pain or bone pain, numbness or tingling, a decrease in mental sharpness, and just generally feeling unwell.

Stage 4

If you have an eGFR of 29 to 15, you are considered to be in stage four of chronic kidney disease. You’ll experience severe loss of kidney function, which may produce symptoms like anemia, decreased appetite, bone disease, or abnormal levels of phosphorus, calcium, or vitamin D.

Stage 5

Stage five is also referred to as end stage renal disease (ESRD), as it causes complete kidney failure. Your eGRF in this stage will be less than 15, meaning your kidneys can not properly filter your blood. In this stage, you will need a kidney transplant or regular dialysis to keep you healthy. Symptoms of this stage include fatigue, shortness of breath, uremia, vomiting, abnormal thyroid levels, or swelling in the hands, legs, eyes, or lower back.

doctor talking to patient

Treatment Options for Kidney Disease and ESRD

At Northeast Nephrology Consultants, Inc, we understand that dealing with chronic kidney disease can be a scary time. But we’re here to see you through this process and ensure you get the care you need. Our doctors are dedicated to providing personalized care tailored to your unique needs. We take the time to listen to your concerns and find the best treatment options available.

  • Peritoneal Home Dialysis: Receive your dialysis treatment in the comfort of your own home with needle-free peritoneal home dialysis.
  • Hemodialysis: Our in-center hemodialysis requires you to visit our center three times every week to filter the blood and clear any toxins form the kidneys.
  • Transplant Services: Transplants are necessary for those with total kidney failure. Our team can connect you with a transplant center or facilitate testing of family members to determine a possible donor in the family.

Contact Us for an Evaluation

If you are concerned you may be experiencing some symptoms of chronic kidney disease, there is no time to waste in receiving proper care. The team at Northeast Nephrology Consultants, Inc will be able to complete a thorough evaluation and diagnose your condition. Please reach out to us today to schedule an appointment.

We Make Your Kidney Health a Priority